Real thinking and learning – how often does it really happen?

The other day I had my first piano lesson and I had my expectations of what I would be able to do in that lesson. However, my teacher had much higher expectations than I did and pushed me much further than I realised I could go. Because of this I made real progress in that lesson but it required my full concentration and thinking for two hours straight and after it was finished I was so worn out that when I tried to read things they went all fuzzy.

But it got me thinking.
How often do AGT children really experience this brain hurting thinking (as I shall call it) in the classroom? And is it as often as they should? Obviously, there’s the balance to keep between pushing them on and going too far but where’s that line?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.