Google Maps Alphabet


I saw this article: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/picture-galleries/5757548/The-Google-Maps-alphabet-UK-an-A-to-Z-of-the-British-Isles.html after it was pointed out on the PTRC forum and it got me thinking: What other things could we create like this?

The obvious one seems to me to be asking the children to do a similar thing finding digits 0-9, but I’m sure there are other things too. Ideas on a postcard (or a comment) please 🙂
Edited to add: Punctuation marks is another one I just thought of, although not massively exciting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Google Maps Alphabet

  1. Teakay says:

    Shapes!Either 'proper' shapes (like square, circle, rhombus, dodecagon etc.) or more imaginative shapes, such as you might find when looking at clouds or stars (that's a tractor! That's a cornflake! That's a postbox with legs and three antennae!)

  2. MissDY6 says:

    I like it! I've just thought mathematical symbols would be another good one.

  3. MissDY6 says:

    Two more ideas: – the lower case alphabet- create a google maps zoo collecting as many different animals as you can (like the chalk horses on the sides of hills)

  4. Ian Addison says:

    http://www.geogreeting.com go and make your own messages using buildings. Punctuation works.

  5. MissDY6 says:

    Brilliant, I love it!

Comments are closed.