Looking at Language

Having read a couple of posts on the Primary Teacher Resource Forum about the English language the teacher in me felt inspired to create a couple of activities for G&T pupils. Just thought I’d share:


Eye Halve a Spelling Chequer

Eye halve a spelling chequer
It came with my pea sea
It plainly marques four my revue
Miss steaks eye kin knot sea.

Eye strike a key and type a word
And weight four it two say
Weather eye am wrong oar write
It shows me strait a weigh.

As soon as a mist ache is maid
It nose bee fore two long
And eye can put the error rite
Its rarely ever wrong.

Eye have run this poem threw it
I am shore your pleased two no
Its letter perfect in it’s weigh
My chequer tolled me sew.

— Sauce unknown

Challenge: This poem is written using homophones or words that sound very similar. Have a go at writing your own homophones poem.


Homographs

Homographs are words which are spelt the same but pronounced differently depending on their meaning. Here are some examples:

1) The bandage was wound around the wound.

2) The farm was used to produce produce.

3) The dump was so full that it had to refuse more refuse.

4) Since there is no time like the present, he thought it was time to present the present.

5) The wind was too strong to wind the sail.

Your challenge is to create more sentences containing at least two homographs. How many can you get?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.