Differentiating Teacher Training

Tonight we had a disaggregated evening at school with the aim of learning how to build and use the VLE. This is the second session we’ve had on it, the first being 6 weeks ago. And it really annoyed me.

It always strikes me that, as teachers, we we are supposed to be constantly differentiating the activities we set in class to meet the needs of all our learners. So why is it that when we have staff training it is only ever aimed at the ‘less able’ (for want of a better term) or the least experienced?OK, so it was about ICT and a lot of teachers struggle with it but that doesn’t mean you can just ignore the one or two that get it and can do it before you’ve even shown them how. The challenge was just not sufficient. I ended upclearing out my email inbox and downloading google chrome so that I could get on Google Wave. Good Times.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Differentiating Teacher Training

  1. Teakay says:

    I agree!We've started having 'ILT' sessions every few Monday evenings (in the weekly meeting slot). I forget what ILT stands for, but the session involves signing up for one of 6-8 ICT-based training sessions. These vary from differing levels of Powerpoint and Excel usage and introductions to video and audio editing software to how to log behaviour incidents on SIMS.I can safely say that during the 3 or 4 sessions I've been forced to sit through ("Directed Time!" they chime!) I have learnt a grand total of nothing at all. Don't get me wrong; for the more technophobic of my colleagues, the sessions are brilliant, but for me each session has been a case of putting my grandmother shoes on and sucking on that egg or, at best, spending an hour being taught to do something I could have worked out for myself (should the need arise) in 5 minutes.So I spend the hour playing, checking my email, and trying to subvert the EMBC's ludicrously compiled block-list.At least I can say, however, it gives me first-hand experience of what my brighter students must feel if I fail to provide them with sufficiently taxing material.

Comments are closed.