What a coincidence!

Further to my post yesterday about whether or not we can harness the technology the students own rather than always buying it ourselves a very funny thing happened today. First thing, during registration, the head came up to year 6 to wish us luck on our school trip. As she was in the room one of the boys actually said to her: “My dad said he’d buy me a laptop and if he does would I be able to bring it to school to use?”

Her response was a small step towards my musings: “Yes, but we can’t link it to the school network so you can’t use it for the internet or get onto your school files.”
I guess this is some of the battle won. Just got to keep fighting the rest and maybe one day we’ll get there. I may have to find out what is perceived to be the problem with letting the children access the network on their own devices and see if it can be overcome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.