Reading Challenge Update

Having tried to start my summer reading challenge I have to say I’m quite shocked at the availability of books from my county’s library service. There are at least 20 of the 60 books that are not available AT ALL anywhere in the county, of which there are 36 libraries plus some mobile units. Of the other 40, only two are available at my nearest branch, and another 15 or so I can get if I’m willing to travel 10 minutes to a couple of other libraries. So, I’m going to have to change the challenge slightly. I’m going to challenge myself to read as many books as possible over the summer instead, either from the list if I can find them, or of my own choice.
I’ve started already and managed to read three books so far: The Boy Who Fell Down Exit 43 by Harriet Goodwin, Dark Summer by Ali Sparks and The Iron Man by Ted Hughes. The first two were good, if a little predictable at times, but I really didn’t like the Iron Man and can’t really understand why it’s so popular. I seem to be like this with children’s fiction though; I really don’t get the appeal of Michael Morpurgo but the children seem to love him.
Next on the reading agenda: Coraline and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman and Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson.
Also, the #teachread that I mentioned previously has been turned into #readforjoy and the wiki for it is here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading Challenge Update

  1. devoil says:

    Hi SniggleEnjoying reading your blog still. I'm not surprised that so many of the books were unavailable, I hadn't heard of a lot of them and I try to keep up with children's books. Interesting that you didn't like the Iron man, I love it and it has always been great with years 3 and 4. I've never got on with Micheal Morpurgo and the children never really get into him. I think he is too descriptive/reflective for my children.Good Luck with your readingWicked Witch

  2. MissDY6 says:

    Thanks for your comment WW, I'm glad you enjoy reading it, it's hard to know sometimes whether anyone does or whether I'm just waffling to myself! I'm glad I'm not the only person that doesn't like MM. I'm going to try some of Ted Hughes' other books and see if I prefer them instead.Squiggle

Comments are closed.