Titanic 100 blog project

This is a project that I am going to do next year and hoping that you will too! It was inspired by and based on Chris Leach‘s Gunpowder, tweeting and plot project that some of my class took part in last year.

The premise of the project is that next year is the 100th anniversary of the launch and subsequent demise of RMS Titanic so I’m hoping we can get at least 100 different schools blogging as different people associated with the trip: the crew, the passengers, the designers etc. The lovely Peter Ford has already set up a domain name for it, which I will share when it has something on it, and I will be creating a google doc to sign up to the people you want to play some time nearer the date.

With my class I am going to do a whole half term project on the Titanic and we will be blogging all the anticipation of the trip in the run up to the anniversary but don’t expect everyone to do this much. It would be perfect to do with a small group as an ICT club, or with your whole class if you wish  – it’s completely open.

I would love to know if you are interested in taking part and I will get sorting 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Titanic 100 blog project

  1. Tony collins says:

    I would love to get involved, Emma. This project sounds really interesting and would do much to engage our boys on particular. We would probably use it with our inkslingers writing club.
    Tony

    • emmaldawson says:

      Brilliant Tony! Would love to know more about your inkslingers club too – what a fab name, what does it mean?

  2. ebd35 says:

    I would like to hear some more about this project if possible :o)

    • emmaldawson says:

      Would be brilliant to have you involved Mary! Don’t really have many details at the moment other than it will be next year in the term running up to Easter and it will involve choosing a character(s) and blogging as them. Don’t think it will be as tight as Chris’ gunpowder plot in terms of when things need to be tweeted but we’ll sort that all out nearer the time.

  3. Keleigh clarke says:

    Hi Emma, I would love to take part with my class of year 5s! Keep in touch with more deets x

  4. Dear Emma

    We would love to be involved. We cover the Titanic as a topic in year 2 and last year created some fantastic titanic animations. As a school that has recently started blogging it would be great to be involved and add further exciting opportunities for the children. How can we register / get involved? Becky

    • emmaldawson says:

      Hi Becky, would be great to have you joining in. I’m going to sort out all the details over the summer and get everything ready then I’ll let everyone know how to sign up properly ( want to keep sign up very simple though). I’ll email you when everything is ready if that’s ok?

      Looking forward to it 🙂

      • That is great1 Thank you. I’m not promising I can do very much but if there is anything we can do to help then just email me.

        We are really looking forward to it

  5. Pingback: Titanic 100 Project | Inside the Northants BLT

  6. Chris Dicken says:

    Count me and my class in please…
    Chris Dicken

  7. stcyrmm says:

    What a brilliant idea- I look forward to seeing how it develops 🙂

  8. Hannah Halbauer says:

    Hi Emma,

    We would love to get involved in this project as we cover this as an integrated unit of work within Year 2, so will be a great way to engage the children. How do I register or get involved??

    Hannah

    • emmaldawson says:

      Hi Hannah, I’m going to put together the information over the summer so will email you all the details then. It will hopefully be fairly straightforward to join in; choosing a character and writing from their perspective.

  9. Sarsie21 says:

    I’d be interested too please 😀

  10. I’d be interested in taking part too!

Comments are closed.