The power of a piece of paper

I recently attended an INSET day on maths, particularly focussing on Numeracy. We were very privileged to have a talk from Jennie Pennant from NRICH and I must say, what a charismatic, inspiring lady she was. Her session was an hour and a half long but it just whizzed by and I was left with a feeling of wanting more.

I wanted to share one of the ideas she gave us; such a simple idea but one with so much potential. All you need is 1 sheet of paper per child. Fold into 16 rectangles and fill each one with the digits 0-9 (there will be some repeats)

Here are some of the activities that could then be done:
  • get children to make a 2/3/4 digit number (either horizontally or vertically) then order their numbers on each table
  • In pairs, make number bonds to 10/100/1000
  • In pairs, who can add 2 numbers to make near hundreds
  • Make a number with 7 tens/6 hundreds/3 units etc
  • Make a multiple of…
  • In pairs, subtract 2 numbers – who can make the smallest difference/largest difference etc
  • Fold a line/square to add to…
  • Show me a number more than/less than…
  • Guess my number
  • Show me a prime/square number
  • find pairs of halves/doubles
  • Triangles – make 3 numbers that add to 180

I’m sure there are hundreds more activities that could be done with this piece of paper but we ran out of thinking time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.